Lexington, KY to Greenville, SC

I finally felt we had everything in order and I could leave my momma on Thursday. Getting a late start, I drove to Lexington, KY. It was familiar territory for me since we had been there before to go with a group to the KY Derby. I stayed at the Hyatt Place off Man o’ War Blvd. Nearby is Malone’s with the best steaks ever. Figured I could use a liquid refreshment to ease the transition from senior assisted-living to the real world.

2015/01/img_1756.jpg
I was dining alone and really enjoying the meal (the steak was melting in my mouth)…when a man from the bar came over and said “I wish I could join you.” I replied, “Thank you for telling me; however, I am content here on my own. Enjoy the rest of your evening.” I went on basking in mine. This dinner was exactly what I needed.

I returned to my son’s the next day. First stop was the vision place to order my new glasses.

2015/01/img_1695.jpg
You’ll discover which pair I selected when they arrive. 😉

Saturday my daughter-in-law and I went sightseeing and shopping. Worthy of sharing with you are the stops we made at two little shops in Fountain Inn, SC. First was a boutique called The Jagged Edge. It offers unique and edgy fashion and accessories.

2015/01/img_1755.jpg
Around the corner was a shop I had read about when I was here back in November. It had just opened then. I was delighted to be there. Sweet & Saucy is Bob’s baby. It is a mix of hot sauces and salsas and a candy store. You will find those old-fashioned treats like us 40-somethings had when we were kids. There are chocolate covered coffee beans, pop rocks, Jelly Bellies, and more. I encourage you to go visit or “like” Sweet & Saucy on Facebook.

2015/01/img_1754.jpg
Sunday I went with the kids and a friend to Newspring Church. Pastor Perry is fantastic. Thanks to him listening to God’s direction and changing his Christmas Eve service, I rededicated my life to the Lord. 😇

And this morning I rededicated to myself to get back to Jazzercise. Time to get fit and toned after being away for three weeks. The new Simpsonville Center rocks!

2015/01/img_1752.jpg
Thank you everyone for following along on my adventure. If you have someone in the Charleston, SC and Savannah, GA area you would like me to visit, please comment. I will be going there this week. Love and faith to all!

Leave a comment