Savannah, Georgia

This afternoon I jumped in my car (Ashley) and drove to Savannah. It is a mere three and a half hours from my son’s home in Simpsonville, SC. The weather was perfect…sunny with hints of clouds and mid-60s.

2015/01/img_1758-1.jpg The route (I-385, I-26, I-95, US-17) had little to moderate traffic as I traveled between 1-5p, with a short snack stop at a Zaxby’s. Those of you in the know in this area have heard of Zaxby’s. It was my first time eating there and it was okay. Maybe if I had gotten something other than the boneless wings with teriyaki sauce and onion rings would have been better?

For those not familiar with Zaxby’s, it was started back in 1990 by two young men (Zach and Tony) who wanted fresh, zesty, tasty chicken in their hometown of Statesboro, GA. They now have grown to over 600 locations in numerous states.

As I drove further South, the grass became greener. Now for this lady who has been in Michigan for the past 20 winters, seeing that color of grass this time of year is exciting. Knowing I will continue to see it on this journey is thrilling! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

I’m staying on Bay St and managed to take an early evening stroll along the waterfront and Broughton St. I opted to eat a delicious slice of greasy NY style pizza from Sweet Melissa’s, which is across the street from The Lady & Sons (Paula and her boys). There are a wide variety of restaurants here to choose from, so they offer a “foody tour” if any of you are interested next time you are here.

I am looking forward to seeing more of the historic district tomorrow in the light and venturing out to Tybee Island. Even the policeman ๐Ÿ‘ฎ with whom I was speaking tonight recommended it. And if you are reading this…Good Luck with your Spartan Race! ๐Ÿ˜€

2015/01/img_1760-0.jpg

4 thoughts on “Savannah, Georgia

  1. I’m glad you made It there safely and I’m so proud of you for following your dreams and exploring so many different places! I love you! Have fun!

  2. I’ve always wanted to visit the Carolina’s (especially the outer banks) and Georgia. I guess for now I’ll just have to live through your adventures ๐Ÿ˜Š.

Leave a comment